Betcha can't read just one!

List of Revolution players in winter ball

Pounds Canberra

No offseason: After garnering All-Atlantic League honors for the Revolution in 2015, third baseman Bryan Pounds split to Canberra, Australia where he’s playing this fall and winter.

For many players, baseball is a year-round vocation.  That’s certainly true for several players with ties to the Revolution and other Atlantic League clubs.  If you want to check out stats and other familiar names you can spot on rosters, the main page for MLB-sanctioned winter leagues is here.

Winter ball teams are a diverse collection of players of different achievement level and most notably age; it’s a melting pot of career minor leaguers, established Major Leaguers and some of the game’s brightest young stars.  For example, Minnesota Twins super-prospect Miguel Sano plays for Estrellas de Oriente in the Dominican Republic, while Houston Astros shortstop Carlos Correa, who beat out Sano for the American League Rookie of the Year award, plays in his native Puerto Rico for Indios de Mayaguez.

On the other side of that coin, ageless wonders Brad Penny (Navegantes del Magallanes, 14 MLB seasons) and Freddy Garcia (Tigres de Aragua, 15 MLB seasons) are each still pitching in Venezuela during the off-season.  There are countless more examples of each extreme, so happy browsing. Here is the list of Revolution players (mostly pitchers) soaking up the sun this fall and winter:


Canberra Cavalry
LHP Wade Korpi ’12
INF Bryan Pounds ’15



Aguilas Cibaenas
OF Jose Constanza ’15
C Luis De La Cruz ’15

Estrellas de Oriente
RHP Omar Javier ’12

Gigantes del Cibao
RHP Luis Perdomo ’15

Leones del Escogido
RHP Julio DePaula ’13-’15
LHP Yunior Novoa ’12-’13
LHP Edward Parades ’13-’15

Tigres del Licey
RHP Jorge Martinez ’14
LHP Leyson Septimo ’15



Charros de Jalisco
RHP Michael Nix ’10-’11

Yaquis de Obregon
RHP Josh Judy ’13, ’15



Cangrejeros de Santruce
RHP Ricardo Gomez



Leones del Caracas
OF Aharon Eggleston ’09
LHP Victor Garage ’12

Navagantes del Magallanes
RHP Lorenzo Barcelo ’11

Tiburones de La Guaira
OF/INF Brian Burgamy ’13
INF Liu Rodriguez ’09-’12 (coach)

Tigres de Aragua
INF Ramon Castro ’10-’12 (coach)


-Paul Braverman


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s