Betcha can't read just one!

Remembering 2012: Barracks to Baseball, Thurm’s life on the road

It may be the slowest time of  year for Revolution news, but we still have plenty to post here in case you missed anything during the season.  As we did last year, we’ll be posting a different column at the beginning of each week from the past season of the York Revolutionary Times in case you missed an issue at the ballpark. 

Sir Yes Sir:  Thurman knows the military and baseball lifestyles
For Corey Thurman, a Salute to Veterans is a salute to family

By Carrie Wood

With the York Revolution’s annual Salute to Veterans night on May 25, few people have been as impacted by the event as Corey Thurman and his family. Thurman, whose father was a Captain in the U.S. Army Signal Corps, grew up living a lifestyle that prepared him for the game of baseball, and said that the Revs efforts to recognize the military are something he looks forward to during the season.

“I think it’s a great thing. Having grown up as an Army brat, you learn that there’s a lot of good things that come with the military, like the discipline, and the hard-working aspect. Our veterans go over there and fight wars so that we can stay here and play this great game of baseball,” he said.

Because his family moved so often during his childhood, Thurman was already prepared “for the baseball lifestyle – moving around and living out of suitcases.” After being born in Augusta, Georgia, Thurman’s family moved to an Army base in Germany, where they stayed for about three and half years. They came back to the States to Alexandria, Virginia, and after that moved to Texas, where they stayed until Thurman graduated high school. Thurman’s parents moved to Detroit after that and are still there today.

The morals and values instilled in him by his parents as a child also prepared him for the athletic lifestyle, he said.

“I was raised on a lot of the basic things that kids these days sometimes miss, like saying ‘yes sir’ and ‘yes ma’am’ and being respectful to adults and authority figures,” he said. “It helped me so much. My mom always told me, and my wife still tells me now, that I’ve never met a person that I don’t like. I can find friends anywhere. And it’s because of that background – when you move so much you need to make new friends and you have new classes in a new school. It was one of those things where I’ve always been able to adjust, and I think that’s made me able to better handle whatever bad things come along. I’ve never had to deal with being homesick or anything like that, because I’ve always had the mentality where my home is where I lay my hat, and that’s because of my army upbringing.”

At the 2010 Revolution FanFest game, Thurman pitched for the U.S. Military All-Star Team against the Revolution – and led them to victory. The day was one he described as emotional.

“My parents came in and the team presented my dad with a hat and a jersey, and my parents still have those hanging up at their house,” he said. “I’ve never been one to want to be in the military – I always wanted to play sports and be a professional at that – but getting the chance to do what I do and still represent the military in some form will always be dear to my heart.”

Though he might never have the chance to put on those fatigues again, Thurman said it was a great experience to be able to put on the Army gear and represent his family during that game.

“I was able to do a little bit of both, being able to go out there and pitch, but to do so in a way that represented my father and the military,” he said.

Despite never having joined the armed forces himself, the fact that his father was in the Army helped shape who Thurman became as a person, and the impact he has in the Revolution clubhouse and on the pitching staff proves that.

“I wouldn’t trade it for the world,” he said. “It’s helped me carve out the right morals and the right priorities to have in life and now I can pass those on to my daughter.”

The Revs opened their 2012 season in Sugar Land, Texas, against the expansion Skeeters. It was the first time Thurman had pitched in Texas since August 18, 2002, when he was pitching for the Toronto Blue Jays against the Texas Rangers in a relief appearance. Thurman considers Texas his home state, having graduated high school in Texarkana, and being able to pitch there again after a decade was special for Thurman and his family.

“That was pretty sweet, because my uncle had a chance to come down,” he said. “I was used to the hot weather, having lived there before. Opening Day is usually pretty cold – expect this year, it was pretty nice – so pitching in Texas to open the season was a nice change.”

Despite the amount of times he’s had to move over the years, Thurman said he has a couple places he’ll always call home.

“Most of my family is in Texas, so I would consider that my home state,” he said. “But obviously, York is my home now.”

Leave a Reply

